Winter Fashion: Chunky Knit Sweaters

Lately as the weather turns crisp and cold, I’ve wanted to wrap myself in cozy (and stylish!) chunky sweaters. Chunky knit sweaters offer the warmth of a blanket and are versatile enough to dress up or dress down—you can’t say that about a sweatshirt.

Ever since I found a gorgeous wool blend slub sweater by Elena Solano at TJ Maxx I’ve been dreaming about adding other chunky knits to my wardrobe. Below are four chunky sweaters that will keep you snug during chilly winter days.

[Wear these comfy short-sleeved sweaters with long-sleeved formfitting undershirts. Photos Courtesy ModCloth.com (pictured left) and Old Navy (pictured right.)]

Layer these short-sleeved sweaters over lightweight long-sleeved shirts. This wheat-colored sweater from ModCloth (pictured left) is perfect weekend wear and costs $48. Pair it with skinny jeans and stylish fall boots.

This heather gray cardigan from Old Navy (pictured right) creates a flattering silhouette with the tie around the waist. This cardigan is $33 and also comes in white and charcoal.

[Stay snug during brisk winter days with these chunky open front sweaters. Photos Courtesy Piperlime (pictured left) and Gap (pictured right.)]

As with all chunky sweaters, these long-sleeved open front sweaters look best when paired with something slim on the bottom.

For a sexy day look, wear this cable neck cardigan from Piperlime (pictured left) with a button-down shirt, skinny jeans and over-the-knee boots. This chunky black cardigan is on sale for $35. It also comes in grey for $60.

Throw this wool blend wrap from Gap over a patterned tunic dress, leggings and heels for a night out. This sweater costs $60.

Do you love chunky sweaters? What do you wear them with? Tell me about it in the comments section.

For more fashion inspiration, follow me on Twitter @kirsten_hudson

Want more winter fashion from everyday threads?

  • Ankle boots, cowboy boots, over-the-knee boots—oh-my! Plus they’re all under $50!
  • Ever heard of an infinity scarf? Find out why it’s super easy to wear.
  • Stay warm this winter with these outfits inspired by the term, “snow bunny.”
13 Comments

Filed under Clothes, Fashion, Winter Fashion

13 responses to “Winter Fashion: Chunky Knit Sweaters

  1. Click here to see a picture of my chunky sweater that I mentioned in this post.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Winter fashion: Chunky knit sweaters | -- Topsy.com

  3. Good picks, Kirsten! I love the Gap sweater…is it still in stores? I’ve been on a cardigan kick lately…definitely a classic piece to stock up on in basic colors…I like the combination of a chunky, open-front cardigan.

    • Thanks Kim! I love cardigans! I haven’t been to Gap lately so I’m not sure if it’s still in stores. If you want some cheap basic cardigans, Forever 21 always has them. They’re not the best quality, but if you wash them as delicates they last longer. I have a few and they’re the best to throw on over dresses.

  4. I love chunky sweaters! I might run out and get the one you have from Old Navy once the snow goes away 🙂

  5. I heart chunky sweaters. Now I just need a pair of black flat boots to go with them and my pair of skinny jeans. I’ve had bad luck locating a pair of over-the-knee boots like you mentioned. I’m too tall. They don’t go over my knees. 😦

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. Pingback: Fashion inspiration: Use primary colors to mix up a winter wardrobe |

  7. Pingback: Get the look: Snow bunny-inspired fashion |

  8. Pingback: Question Of The Day: Is It Ever OK To Wear Black And Brown Together? |

  9. sana

    it’s just awesome collection

Leave a Reply

