What I’m Obsessing Over Right Now: Braided Woven Belts

Woven belts aren’t exactly a new fashion phenomenon, but for some reason I keep wanting to add them to every outfit I pull on.

I didn’t have any in my wardrobe until recently. During a browse through American Eagle, I spotted several brown woven belts that were in exactly the style I had been dreaming about. The store also displayed an adorable super skinny white one that I loved. Despite intricate plans in my mind about everything I could wear them with, my budget-conscious just wouldn’t allow me to spend $20-$30 on one belt.

But I had to fuel my bordering-on-crazy belt obsession. After perusing two thrift stores, I came home with three braided woven belts—all for less than $5. Fashion score!

wovenbelt2[So far I’ve worn that skinny red number to liven up a simple black dress. I also belted it around a blue tunic shirt to add a pop of unexpected color.]

[Cinch a woven belt around a flowy shirt to define your waist.]

[My new collection of braided woven belts includes a skinny bright red belt, a distressed braided brown belt and a medium-sized hunter green linked belt.]

wovenbelt1

[I love the rustic quality of these belts, especially the brown one. Buying vintage means items will already look worn in and distressed—qualities that clothing companies often attempt to mimic.]

Photos by Kirsten Hudson

For more fashion inspiration, follow me on Twitter @kirsten_hudson

Do you love vintage? Then check out other vintage fashion finds from everyday threads:

8 Comments

Filed under Accessories, Fashion

8 responses to “What I’m Obsessing Over Right Now: Braided Woven Belts

  1. Great finds! Always so much better to find cute, affordable vintage numbers. Love that red belt 🙂

  2. I have a brown braided belt myself. It goes with so many items from my closet!

  3. I love braided belts! What a great find!

  4. Pingback: My Style: Coral Dreams of Cool Summer Days |

  5. Pingback: Loving This Outfit: Floral Summer Dress |

  6. Pingback: New Years Fashion Resolutions for 2011 |

Leave a comment